Thursday, October 5, 2023

at the

Lancaster County Convention Center


2023 Honorees Keynote Speaker
Carol T. and John F. Pyfer, Jr. Mary Lou Retton
2023 Distinguished Citizens America’s Best-Known Olympian

This special evening honors an individual who has impacted on the lives of the citizens of Lancaster and Lebanon counties and lives the Scout Oath and Scout Law in their daily lives.


We thank our 2023 Eagle Sponsors for their Support.








Registration Information

2023 DCAD Registration Form

Annual Dinner Facts

The Distinguished Citizen Award recognizes outstanding individuals in the community for their impact on the lives of others within Lancaster and Lebanon Counties. These individuals live up to the Scout Oath and Law in their everyday personal and professional life. The award committee has selected one individual to be honored each of the past 33 years. The recipient is recognized at the Annual Distinguished Citizen Award Dinner, which is held in the fall each year. As a part of the dinner program a Scout will share his Scouting experiences and what being involved in Scouting means to them. One of the other highlights of the evening is a guest speaker who will share a message with the audience; this message will vary depending on the speaker.

Past Honorees

Mayor J. Richard Gray * Ann B. Barshinger * Jay R. Bucher * Coach Dick Vermiel * R. Scott Smith Jr. * Nevin Cooley * Dr. Theodore Long * Edward H. & Jeanne Donlevy Arnold* Sen. Gib Armstrong * Peggy Steinman * Rev. Louis A. Butcher, Jr. * Hon. Lawrence F. Stengel * Henry H. Gibbel *   Walt Legenstein * Rufus A. Fulton, Jr. * John Synodinos * Paul W. Ware * Coach Joe Paterno * S. Dale High *   William H. Cardinal Keeler * Hon. Paul A. Mueller * Caroline Steinman Nunan * William Adams * Anne B. Sweigart * Wilson D. McElhinny * Willis W. Shenk * Hon. Robert S. Walker * Keith Spalding * Vernon A. Bishop * Lt. Gen. Daniel B. Strickler * Craig A. Roda * Henry H. Gibbel * Jan Bergen * Tom Baldrige

Link To Contribute to the Jay R. Bucher Campership Fund in Honor of Carol T. and John F. Pyfer, Jr., Coming Soon!


For information on the 2023 Distinguished Citizen Award Dinner please contact Zena Korba, Development Director, at or 717-553-4209.